To One Who Bears the Sweetest Name…

“To one who bears the sweetest name

And adds luster to the same

Long life to her for there’s no other

Who takes the place of my dear mother.”

As I am sure many of you have heard this poem, I think of how very appropriate this poem is. I’m not sure of it’s origin but it was in my mother’s house as we grew up.

My mother has been my mainstay, my confidante, my friend, my teacher, and my spiritual leader. As I sit and type this, I realize the long lasting effects my mother has had on me. The way I think, the way I see the world, all that I am is because my mother was the one who molded me into the woman I am today.

I wish there were some kind of words to use to show how much I appreciate my mother. But there just aren’t. I could write twelve books and it wouldn’t be adequate enough. How do you thank the woman who gave you life? I guess the only thing I can do is succeed at all my endeavors.

Thank you, Ma.

7 thoughts on “To One Who Bears the Sweetest Name…

  1. I grew up with this same poem hanging on my mother’s wall and feel exactly as you do about my darling mother!

  2. “…WHO SHARES MY JOYS WHO TEARS WHEN SAD THE GREATEST FRIEND I EVER HAD LONG LIFE TO HER FOR THERE’S NO OTHER WHO COULD TAKE THE PLACE OF MY DEAR MOTHER” UNKNOWN. MY BROTHER GAVE MY MOM ONE OF THESE BANNERS WHEN HE WAS IN THE MILITARY. GREAT POEM

  3. I bought I plate for my mum as a little girl, the words have always stayed with me. My beautiful and perfect mother passed away five weeks ago.

    To one who bears the sweetest name and adds a lustre to the same.
    Who shares my joys, cheers when sad, the greatest friend I ever had.
    Long life to her for there’s no other,
    could take the place of my dear mother.

  4. My mom has recently passed away and my brothers and I were together during her passing and we reminisced on the place of my dear mother poem while we were engaged in communication among ourselves. Beautiful poem it is, my brother presented it to her on a banner with fringes during his stay in the military.

Leave a Reply

