Yesterday on the Show…

We got this bunny at work at Easter but it was creepy enough for Halloween

We got this bunny at work at Easter but it was creepy enough for Halloween

Although it was Halloween yesterday, I hardly thought about it. For one thing, I live in an area with a lot of older people and few children.

Looking back, I grew up with a dwindling relationship with Halloween. As a child, I remember dressing up as a pirate and going to my mother’s job for a party. Later on, the church I attended had a party but we dressed like people from the Bible so there were a ton of shepherds, prophets, and the like in blankets, sheets, and pillowcases. Further as I got older, we stopped celebrating it completely and started to attend a “Harvest Celebration” at a church in the country. There we would sit around with some of the other kids and drink hot chocolate with marshmallows or hot apple cider. We’d watch a young adult Christian film, and then later on go on a hay ride. Finally, the day just passed by like any other day. It wasn’t until my nephew came along the day recaptured some meaning for me again. Who doesn’t love a baby or a young kid in a costume? They’re the cutest. Now ten years, nephew went to school as Wolverine without the claws.

So my relationship with Halloween is non-existent. Maybe if I ever have kids I may do something. But until then, I closely associate October 31st with Reformation Day.

Yesterday’s show was quite good actually. My guest Martin Murphy, is a really smart guy theologian, pastor, author, and publisher. His mission can be wrapped up in a single sentence: Get the Church as a whole back to biblical basics.

Martin Luther by Cranach-restoration

I’m more interesting than the most interesting man in the world…trust me.

We talked about Reformation as far as what Martin Luther did, the reasoning behind it, the Catholic Church’s role in the Reformation, the climate of today and back then and a host of other things. He’s written several book on doctrine and church history. I invite you to listen to the show. We can’t take too lightly the point of the Reformation. After all, this changed Church history. When Martin Luther nailed his 95 Theses to door of All Saints, he was making a HUGE move that has impacted us till this very day. I urge anyone to study the reformation and find out just how big of deal this was. We don’t talk about it often enough because we’re consumed by existential living, focusing on the moment and not clinging to the past for fear we may learn something. But if we don’t know the history, how can we effectively change our present and then hope for a better future?


 

Parker J Cole Gold JacketParker is a diehard Trekkie (TOS), sci-fi lover, fantasy dweller, romance junkie, anime freak, old movie buff, church-goer, off and on Mountain Dew and marshmallow recovering addict who writes to fill the void the sugar left behind. Visit her website at parkerjcole.com

One thought on “Yesterday on the Show…

Leave a Reply

